Books, Books and More Books Please

Hello my name is Aniela and I am a bibliophile. For those who may not be familiar with the term, it is someone who collects or has a great love of books. I do both. Not first edition types of collecting, simply books I by authors I enjoy. I will re-read a book numerous times and love it each and every time. I even enjoy the smell of books. Libraries and bookstores are my favorite places to go. My bank account is in trouble when I enter a bookstore. Hence the reason I wear out my library card.

I enjoy contemporary literature the most, but enjoy my Jane Austen, Shakespeare and Agatha Christie. I am a HUGE Nora Roberts fan – have most of her books on my bookshelf now. I am also a fan of Heather Graham, Debbie Macomber, Sherryl Woods, Anne Rice, Dan Brown, and Brad Meltzer. I enjoy other authors too, but these authors’ books I devour. I also enjoy finding a “new to me” or a brand new author who may take me on a journey of the mind that is new and exciting.

That’s what reading is to me – a journey of the mind. When I read a book I feel transported from wherever I may be into the world created by the author. In my biblio-journeys (*note this is a word of my own creation) I have traveled throughout the United States, to most European countries, Egypt, Morocco, Asia and sailed on various bodies of water. I have traveled in time both forward and backward. Through the authors’ creations I have met people, Gods and creatures from every corner of the earth and beyond.

My biblio-journeys are many times what get through a particularly stressful time in my life. Times when nothing seemed to be going right, my books have been there for me. Times when I haven’t had 2 nickels to rub together, my books have been there enriching my life. Times when the sadness of events in my life could have drowned me, my books have lifted my spirits – easing the burden for me.

My family has joked that a bomb could go off next to me when I’m reading and I wouldn’t notice. That may be a slight exaggeration, but more accurate than not. I close out the world around me and immerse myself into the story in my hands. I can escape the stress and the worry that plagues my everyday life. I can escape the sadness, the depression, the anxiety. I can feel lighter and happier when I am reading.

For those who are not readers, this will seem bizarre to you. You will think there’s something wrong with me. But for those who share my love of reading, you will understand. You know you have found a kindred soul.

Read on fellow bibliophiles, read on.

Leave a Reply

