Musings and Observations

I’ve been taking a bit of a back seat lately regarding my activism and social media. It’s even been a while since I have posted a blog. Theatre business and rehearsals, work and errands have kept me too busy to focus on other things. Or so you would imagine.

Lately, I’ve been taking on an observer stance on a number of fronts. I will share some of my observations here, and some I will keep to myself.

  1. I honestly believe that the current administration is a bad reality TV show and we’re the unwilling/unwitting participants. I say this first and foremost due to what is going on with the EPA funding and the administration’s stance that climate change is not a reality. It’s 60°F outside – in early March – at 9:39 pm – in Delaware. It was around 70°F earlier today. Tomorrow it is forecasted to snow. That is not what the climate was like 10 years ago, never mind 20+ years ago. Climate change is SCIENTIFIC FACT that has been accepted worldwide. It is not some liberal conspiracy.
  2. I have noticed that people are more blatantly supporting local candidates strictly on political party and/or gender.  It seems the concept of researching all candidates to see which one is truly wanting to improve the local issues, no matter what political party or even what gender they are, is becoming passé. I have a hard time supporting a candidate blindly and refuse to do so.
  3. Women who have been doing an incredible job promoting and fighting for women’s rights can be downright rude and mean to other women. I have personally experienced another woman trying to shame me because I went to work on March 8. Actually, I saw a lot of women shaming others if they didn’t participate in the Women’s Strike. That’s not how it’s supposed to work. Women need to stop knocking each other down and be truly supportive of one another. How can we ask to be treated as equals by men, when our own sisters don’t treat each other as equals? Empowering each other by building up and supporting each other is how we rise.
  4. When given the opportunity, people will step up, volunteer, and make a difference. I’m not talking only about social issues, but within the theatre world, at my job, and in other situations. People want to feel needed and useful. Some of the best volunteers are our senior community. They have tons of experience and wonderful ideas. In addition, they typically have more time if they are retired.
  5. I need to always remember to let people know that I appreciate their help, advice, support and kindness. It feels good to let them know they’re appreciated and it feels good to hear it.
  6. I really miss having my dogs living with us. We’re unable to have them here for a few reasons and my best friend and her family are caring for them until our living situation changes. As much as I am glad they are loved and well taken care of, I miss them terribly and want to have them living with us again. There’s nothing like snuggling up with my pups, being greeted by wiggling pups who act like you’re the best thing ever, getting dog hugs and just feeling the comfort of having my dogs nearby.
  7. Wilmington, Delaware is incredibly riddled with crime. The 12th homicide happened last night in the section I live. Luckily is was several blocks away. We just have drug dealers, prostitutes and other crimes being committed on my block. (One of the several reasons my dogs don’t live with us.) I know a lot of people that try to say it’s not that bad. Yes, yes it is. I have a panic button at my job – at a church. How sad is that?
  8. I love my theatre involvement. I adore my theatre family. I feel truly blessed having Reedy Point Players and all of the people I’ve met through my involvement with them in my life. It is a lot of work at times, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I’m enjoying having the opportunity to be on stage in the upcoming production of Titanic: Tragedy & Trial. I’m excited for their upcoming Playwrighting Competition. And I’m looking forward to directing again in the fall.

So there are some of the observations and musings I’ve had lately. Take them for what they are – random thoughts. Now to go quiet my head listening to YouTube white noise video of an epic thunderstorm.

Leave a Reply

