Inspiration

inspiration hides in strangest placesInspiration is a funny thing. You never know where it will come from or how it will manifest. Inspiration doesn’t merely refer to the creative, but to every aspect of our lives. We are inspired to dress a certain way, make a particular food to eat, reach out to a friend or family member, or any number of activities.

Inspiration is a powerful non-tangible thing. We can be inspired to do something uplifting and positive. We can be inspired to do something awful and tragic. I’ve seen and heard of both more often than I realized.

to inspire is greatCase in point – on the positive and uplifting variety – a post by a young man I know through theatre. He is working as a waiter in NYC, as most struggling actors are known to do. He posted a story on Facebook, an anecdote from his waiter gig. It brought tears to my eyes as I read how he connected most beautifully with a patron of the restaurant. She was out with her friend having a fine time eating and drinking. My friend, their waiter, has a fun, open, and genuine personality, and was charming with the dining ladies. Sometime during their dinner, she shared with my friend that she had just been diagnosed with cancer but that she was going to beat it. This caring young man spoke with a fellow waiter about the woman’s revelation. The two men then went over to the ladies, had a group hug with loads of encouragement and prayers thrown in.

What inspired my friend to ask his customer a simple question that turned into an extraordinary moment? What inspired him to share this story on social media?

Inspiration concept crumpled paper light bulb metaphor for goodAnother case, from the other end of the inspiration spectrum – suicide by jumping off of a bridge. I mention it because of the play I am in, Jumping. It is about a woman who is “inspired” to end her life by jumping off of a bridge. What a tragic form inspiration takes in this scenario. At what point does someone get inspired to commit suicide? Why does inspiration come in such a tragic form?

inspiration aheadOne may ask what inspired me to write about inspiration. I am not really sure what caught my attention and steered me in this direction. I know that I am conscious of inspiration when it comes to my theatre life and even at work. It can be a driving force or a soft whisper.

 

What inspires you? Do you notice when inspiration hits you? Do you notice when it’s a soft whisper? Pay attention and listen to the inspiration in your life.

time to inspire

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.